New Baby Essentials – Diapers, Health and Safety

During my pregnancy, I tried to prepare and do as much research on everything we’d need for our baby as I could. I read reviews online, I asked friends and family members, and I browsed in probably every baby store in my area. But after Olly was born, I realized that I had only scratched the surface on Baby Essentials.

I think this was largely due to the fact that I just didn’t know the right questions to ask, but also because every single mom and baby will have different experiences and preferences, and some things just can’t be predicted ahead of time.

Regardless of these variables, I want to share what I consider to be OUR new baby essentials. These are items that we either received as gifts or purchased ourselves, and each one has turned out to be an invaluable resource for us during the first few months of baby’s life.

I started this post, and the list just kept getting longer and longer and longer… so I’ve broken it up into a few different categories. Check out Clothing and Textiles and Bath and Gear Accessories. 

diapers health and safety

Honest Company Diapers

These diapers are such excellent quality! They held more pee and poop than Pampers or Huggies, and fit Olly’s little body perfectly. They are definitely a bit pricier, but if you can afford the extra cost, they’re worth it. And can we talk about those awesome patterns? I’m a sucker for pretty things.

Honest Company Diaper Rash Cream

Olly hasn’t had a really bad diaper rash yet (*knock on wood*), but this diaper cream tackled flare-ups much faster than other brands.

Huggies Clutch’n’Clean

This wipes dispenser is great! We have two of them, but I could probably use a third. It is reusable and keeps wipes fresh forever. Literally. We’ve had one in our car that has had wipes in it for 7 months and they’re still fresh as the day the package was opened. Plus, the dispenser comes in some lovely patterns!

Playtext Diaper Genie Portable Bag Dispenser

Such a handy item to have in your diaper bag. You just whip it out, tear off a bag, and bam! Odor elimination and dirty diaper storage is at your finger tips.

Munchkin Step Diaper Pail

Choosing a diaper pail can impact your life a whole lot more than you might expect. I chose the Step because reviews said that it holds more diapers than other pails. I have definitely found this to be true. When Olly was a newborn, we were emptying it maybe once a week. Now that Olly is 8 months old, it’s closer to once a day. We’re still in love with this diaper pail… as “in love” as you can be a diaper pail, hah.

Jamieson Probiotic Baby

We had a hard time getting burps out of Olly in the early months, and when we finally started adding Probiotics to his milk, we saw a definite increase in burping. This can get pricey at certain stores, but Walmart.ca has it for a great price!

Boiron Cocyntal

We received this as a gift and I am SO THANKFUL to the person that gave it to us (please identify yourself)! This stuff works! Any time Olly had an episode of colic, one dose, or sometimes two, would calm him within minutes. He would usually burp or pass gas or poop, and then fall into a deep, peaceful sleep.

Rexall Nasal Aspirator 

The safety kit that we purchased came with a Nasal Aspirator that had a hard plastic head on it, and it was difficult to get it in Olly’s nose without causing him pain. I ended up buying a soft plastic one from Rexall for $3, and it’s like a dream compared to the previous one! Olly still hates anything touching his nose, though.

Philips Avent Mini Pacifiers

We received one of these pacifiers as part of a sample package from Babies’r’Us. It ended up being the only pacifier Olly would take for the first 6 months of his life. They’re small, lightweight, and the perfect size for teeny mouths. Plus, one of their designs has a sailboat on it. Nautical anything will always win me over.

I had a hard time finding these in store after I realized that I needed more. I ended up ordering on Amazon, but then later found them at a larger Babies’r’Us location. Pictured below: Olly sleeping with a Mini Pacifier. 

_20160913_095238

Philips Avent Nighttime Pacifiers

Four words: glow-in-the-dark. When your baby is four months, can’t keep a pacifier in his mouth to save his own life, and wakes up every time that pacifier falls out, these puppies will save your sanity.

You’re welcome.

4 thoughts on “New Baby Essentials – Diapers, Health and Safety

  1. Jamie says:

    Laura thanks for posting all this information. I’m finding it super helpful with my own preparation even though I’m quite far away still

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

